Piano Day Erased Tapes event at The Courtyard

The day I want to write about is a couple weeks back now already; it’s taken a while to finish this write up as we’ve been driving about the West Country with rather intermittent wi-fi. Or rather limping, in a combo of a now-broken-down, much-beloved VW camper, a rather run-of-the-mill courtesy car, generously-offered lifts and GWR trains.

Anyway, let me take you back to Monday 28th March, when the 2nd ever “Piano Day” happened. For a further explanation of this Nils Frahm-endorsed event, see here.

On this day, one of my favourite ever labels Erased Tapes (get to know if you don’t already!) put on a unique event at lovely Hoxton venue The Courtyard featuring some fabulous artists / pianists including Peter Broderick, Michael Price and Douglas Dare – and it certainly didn’t disappoint.

Personally and rather sadly, I only got to about Grade 4 on piano. My chosen specialties at school were singing alto (2) in a chamber choir and playing Mozart’s Horn Concerto on the French Horn and these focussed me – or rather distracted me from piano practice.  I love the instrument and do dabble when I can get hold of one, but it’s a rare treat (anyone want to offer me one again?!) and wish I could play more and improve.

While appreciating their beauty, I find wholly instrumental piano pieces useful to listen to when working and I really need to concentrate, when writing an article, say.  The Erased Tapes label have a lot of exceptional examples of these by both traditional and very modern and experimental artists. A lot of these appear on this great Spotify Music for Concentration playlist I’ve been listening to for many months.

I also recommend listening to / downloading Erased Tapes regular free compilation samplers (or donate as much as you wish) as a way to introduce yourself to their great catalogue and prolific artists.

So, back to the line-up in question. First on was Douglas Dare, who’s a fairly new protege to the label’s fold and what a voice, and beautiful songs too, with some charming self-deprecating chat belying his great piano skills and vocals.

Next up: Michael Price (co-composer of the BBC Sherlock theme with David Arnold) who skilfully played some of his gorgeous Entanglement EP, among other pieces, whilst also being extremely self-effacing. I know some people don’t, but I always love it when artists give you a little insight into their thought process or songwriting for example. Of course all the performers spoke of their fondness for the piano.

Last up was Peter Broderick, known as an accomplished performer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist in his own right, as well as being a former member of excellent Danish band Efterklang. You can add poet, comedian (of sorts – if piano jokes from the internet count…) and raconteur to the list after this evening. He played beautiful, mostly instrumental pieces from his catalogue, the names of which I’m afraid escape me now.  I must say I particularly appreciated when he added his vocals in – only sporadically on a couple of tracks, I believe.  I was a little disappointed he didn’t play his song I Am Piano (I don’t think) from his great itstartshear.com project – but perhaps that was too obvious a choice…and might’ve required a full string section which the occasion didn’t warrant.

Now for some rather average photos taken from the back (front half of room was first-come-first-serve seating and we were too slow), see below. And do check out the artists mentioned as soon as you can!

Douglas mesmerising us with his Bjork cover of Lionsong from her latest album Vulnicura
Label boss Robert discussing the old piano that the proceeds of the night will contribute to World Heart Beat Music Academy
 

Peter Broderick himself:

All 3 of them following their ensemble encore (I managed not to photograph the lovely Michael Price in the middle): 

Leave a comment